Life of a Preemie Mom

My daughter was in the NICU for 8 days, 8 long days. Mothers shouldn’t have to leave the hospital without their baby. The emptiness that sets in is almost unbearable, it’s a constant feeling that part of you is missing. The strain that it puts on your family isn’t easy either, but you being the hormonal mom that you are at the time, most of the strain is on Β you. If you happen to add the extra challenge of breastfeeding on to that. Well you have my utmost sympathy.

My day started at 7am, after getting ready I’d head to the hospital to be there in time for the doctor to make her rounds and give me an update. Then I’d hang around until I had to come back home to get my older daughter off her school bus. Then I’d come home and try to keep our lives running at home(laundry, dishes, dinners). I’d take a shower then head to bed. I’d be awoken by my need to pump at least 3 times a night(2 if I was really lucky), where I’d go sit in my daughters empty nursery and pump in the middle of the night. That was probably one of the worst parts, in my tired half awake state it always felt like I was moaning a loss and the loneliness was almost unbearable. I was able to recharge for only the short time that I got to hold my baby and see her sweet face.

When you do get to bring your precious baby home it’s such a relief. But that’s when your next set of challenges start. Everything is too big. Diapers, socks, swaddlers, clothes, even the nose aspirator will be to big. Their already baby size right? So to try and find them even smaller is quite a task.

Their the cutest little humans ever! I wouldn’t trade any of it for a minute though, she’s the best little baby and I love her so!

Leave a Reply

