Don’t Doubt Yourselves

I was home schooled and I grow up going to church every Sunday and Wednesday, so I didn’t have a ton of friends to teach me how to dress, fix my hair, and the proper way to wear make up. Sure I had close friends, but we were never that girly, and what we did learn was mostly trial and error, with a few tips from outsiders. Also my mom was never one to wear very much make up and get all dressed up, and my sister moved away when I was 13. I don’t think I’m really ugly, so I just hope for the best and continue on with my life. I believe somewhere around 14 I really started to realize I don’t really dress like or style myself in the way most girls seemed to. I spent some time trying to correct this, but after awhile I was like hey I’m gonna dress the way I’m comfortable and I don’t really want to look just like every other girl anyways. I went on dates wearing jeans, flip flops, and a T-shirt just the same as a girl dressed up to the nines. I wanted guys to like me while I was just being me(and no I didn’t wear a t-shirt and jeans on all my dates). I didn’t set out to impress anyone at a bowling ally or while playing putt putt golf. Sure I dress up sometimes, I don’t see the point in trying to look fabulous all the time. If that’s what a guy was looking for, he could’ve scurried off to the closest Abercrombie & Fitch. I don’t get dressed in the morning thinking about how other people want me to dress. If someone doesn’t like the way I dress then their more than welcome to stare at themselves. I have dressed like a soccer mom for most of my life, and will continue to do so. I do like dressing up every now and then, but that’s usually few and far between. I hate to seeing girls feeling all self conscious about themselves, because their hair isn’t fixed the same, or their make up isn’t just right, or their hair looks like a birds nest regardless how hard they try to unweave it(okay maybe I hold grudges against my own hair). But seriously their probably more insecure with them selves if they go through all that trouble, then you’ll ever be. So don’t let them get to you. Just keep your beautiful head up and a smile on your face. Because God made us in his own image, so how could we be anything but gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

